Opinion

15 June 2018

Diversity is no longer about ‘why’ – it’s about ‘how’

Technology is never a silver bullet. But we predict disruptive technology will play an increasingly large role in driving real behaviour change.

  • Opinion
  • Banking
  • Organisational development
Read more
14 June 2018

What shape do you like your developers?

In our view, the choice is T-shaped – or hole-shaped

  • Opinion
  • Banking
  • Expert & talent management
  • Technology
Read more
12 June 2018

Investor services – is custody still king?

The leading investor services banks (State Street, BNY Mellon, JP Morgan, Citibank and so on) seem to be bifurcating into two distinct types: the Trust Banks (BNY Mellon, Northern Trust and State Street) and the universal banks (JP Morgan, Citibank, HSBC, BNP Paribas). At the same time we are seeing several banks re-shape their offerings and/or exit from certain services. Why is this?

It probably all boils down to two connected factors – profitability and capital requirements.

  • Opinion
  • Asset & wealth management
  • Business strategy
  • Operating model
  • Outsourcing
  • Research
Read more
9 June 2018

The social media challenge for wealth managers

Social media has now grown to be a fundamental part of the fabric of our lives: the way we communicate, consume, engage in politics, the environment and work are just a few of the ways we are impacted. Yet UK wealth managers in general are slow to engage in any meaningful way.

  • Opinion
  • Asset & wealth management
  • Financial markets infrastructure
  • Distribution & product
Read more
7 June 2018

Brexit backstop – backdoor to no stop?

Brexit rumbles on, in its usual all-consuming fashion. Across the benches, country and continent, a potent mix of confusion, derision […]

  • Opinion
  • Banking
  • Regulatory-driven change
Read more
11 April 2018

Commercial Property: Is there another way?

The question of fair value pricing and fund suspension was particularly topical in the aftermath of the EU Referendum in the context of commercial property funds.  Many had Fair Value Pricing (FVP) in place and some big funds suspended trading. Suspension of course, is a general power open to the Operator of any mutual fund regardless of the asset class.

  • Opinion
  • Asset & wealth management
  • Distribution & product
Read more
6 April 2018

How to prepare for Securities Financing Transaction Regulation – SFTR

In just over a year’s time, new Securities Financing Transaction Regulation –  SFTR –  is due to hit users of securities financing, […]

  • Opinion
  • Asset & wealth management
  • Banking
  • Regulatory-driven change
  • Risk
Read more
27 March 2018

Brexit is saved – seriously?

Who can be sure that come March 2019 the UK will not be out on their own?

  • Opinion
  • Banking
  • Regulatory-driven change
Read more